Stanford Men's Golf Team 2007 NCAA National Champions
History of Stanford Golf
Stanford's remarkable history has left its mark on the golf world.
Stanford Greats
The names are legendary: Little, Seaver, Rosburg, Watson & Woods and others.
Numberous All-Americans played at Stanford over the years.
National Champions
8 national championships have been won, including in 2007.
Men's Golf Members of the Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame + Grant Spaeth
Malcolm McNaughton '31 Charles Seaver '34 Lawson Little '34 Don Edwards '36
Art Doering '40 Warren Berl '42 Bud Brownell '42 Sandy Tatum '42
Bob Cardinal '47 Eddie Twiggs '32-47 Bob Rosburg '49 Dick McElyea '52
Steve Smith '61 Tom Watson '71 Bud Finger '48-76 Christian Cevaer '92
Notay Begay '95 Casey Martin '95 Tiger Woods '96 Joel Kribel '99
Wally Goodwin '00 Grant Spaeth '54'

Bob Cardinal - 1947

Cardinal_BobBob Cardinal was a letter winner 1946, 1947. He was a member of the 1946 national championship team. He is a member of the Stanford Hall of Fame. Teammate Bob Rosburg said "Cardinal was a legend among golfers in SF.''

The 1946 Stanford team was a powerhouse group that won the Pacific Coast Conference title by 39 strokes a few weeks before it was expected to head to Princeton to compete for what could be a 5th national championship under the leadership of famed coach Eddie Twiggs. It included future PGA Tour great Bob Rosburg, Frank McCann and Jack Shuler who were at first denied by the athletic department the chance to compete based on the hard times that existed after WWII.

The team raised funds themselves to make the trip, a total of $425 each - see the articles below about the controversy. Stanford made the trip and won by 5 strokes over runner-up Michigan led by Frank McCann's 6th place finish individually.