Stanford Men's Golf Team 2007 NCAA National Champions
History of Stanford Golf
Stanford's remarkable history has left its mark on the golf world.
Stanford Greats
The names are legendary: Little, Seaver, Rosburg, Watson & Woods and others.
Numberous All-Americans played at Stanford over the years.
National Champions
8 national championships have been won, including in 2007.
Men's Golf Members of the Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame + Grant Spaeth
Malcolm McNaughton '31 Charles Seaver '34 Lawson Little '34 Don Edwards '36
Art Doering '40 Warren Berl '42 Bud Brownell '42 Sandy Tatum '42
Bob Cardinal '47 Eddie Twiggs '32-47 Bob Rosburg '49 Dick McElyea '52
Steve Smith '61 Tom Watson '71 Bud Finger '48-76 Christian Cevaer '92
Notay Begay '95 Casey Martin '95 Tiger Woods '96 Joel Kribel '99
Wally Goodwin '00 Grant Spaeth '54'

Dick McElyea - 1952

McElyeaDick McElyea was a letter winner in 1950, 1951 & 1952. He was the individual conference champion in 1950 & 1951. He is a member of the Stanford Hall of Fame.

Teammate Grant Spaeth said that he was a 'a wonderful fellow' who was very well liked by teammates. McElyea who had a magnificent short game and was very steady on the golf course.

This Stanford Hall of Famer was from Palo Alto, a kind and modest man, who loved Dixie land records. Despite being a fairly short hitter, he won the Pacific Coast Amateur, a major amateur event, in the early 1950s.

His grandson Cory earned 1st team All-West Coast Conference in 2014 playing golf at USF.