Stanford Men's Golf Team 2007 NCAA National Champions
History of Stanford Golf
Stanford's remarkable history has left its mark on the golf world.
Stanford Greats
The names are legendary: Little, Seaver, Rosburg, Watson & Woods and others.
Numberous All-Americans played at Stanford over the years.
National Champions
8 national championships have been won, including in 2007.
Men's Golf Members of the Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame + Grant Spaeth
Malcolm McNaughton '31 Charles Seaver '34 Lawson Little '34 Don Edwards '36
Art Doering '40 Warren Berl '42 Bud Brownell '42 Sandy Tatum '42
Bob Cardinal '47 Eddie Twiggs '32-47 Bob Rosburg '49 Dick McElyea '52
Steve Smith '61 Tom Watson '71 Bud Finger '48-76 Christian Cevaer '92
Notay Begay '95 Casey Martin '95 Tiger Woods '96 Joel Kribel '99
Wally Goodwin '00 Grant Spaeth '54'

Coach Bud Finger - 1948 thru 1976

Finger_Bud Charles (Bud) Finger. Letter winner 1939, 1940, 1941. Member of 1939 and 1941 national championship teams. Member of the Stanford Hall of Fame. Head coach from 1948 through 1976, in 27 years of NCAA competition his teams finished in the top ten 16 times and in the top twenty 23 times. His teams won the NCAA championship in 1953, finished second in 1957 and third in both 1950 and 1959.

He was a member of the 1939 and 1941 national championship teams. His teammates on the 1941 national championship winner included fellow Hall of Famers Bud Brownell and Warren Berl. In 1952 his 64 set the professional course record at Stanford GC.

He later coached Tom Watson, Bob Rosburg, Grant Spaeth and John Brodie among many great players at Stanford. As coach, he led the Stanford to 12 conference championships3. In his final year of coaching, a backgrounder on Coach Finger is included below.


Bud Finger with the 1941 national championship team


Media Guide Info from Finger's Final Season